Leave a comment

Last day in the Marine Corp!

It’s 9:46 PM here in Twentynine Palms, CA and i’m waiting for 2 hours and 14 minutes, when my terminal leave starts, and I am officially detached from my unit and the Marine Corps.

It’s been a long road for me, too long. I hated almost all of it. And now that i’m at the end, car packed to the brim with stuff, I fear the unknown. Where will I eat, or how will I cook. Am I going to have enough money in these future 4 years of college in Provo, UT to cover the rent, the car payment, food, school supplies. Is the Post 9/11 GI Bill going to cover all my tuition. I have a job interview at Super Target in Orem, will I pass the interview?

The fears don’t subside by the simple fact that the economy is in shambles and maybe I couldn’t be getting out at a more worse time. So should I stay in the Corp then?

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! And I can never stress that enough.

Allow me to go back on what I said above.

These 4 years in the Marine Corps has been the worst 4 years of my life, hands down.

I’ve suffered depression several times over and was called a B-word for it, I broke my leg doing martial arts I never wanted to do in the first place, I got treated like the absolute scum of the earth, after working so hard to earn the title Marine. And why? Because your trapped. Because you signed a contract and there’s no way out. Because your a modern day slave.

Long story short, I think the biggest problem I had about being a Marine was having my life dictated down to the little thing. I’m a free soul and a free bird, and I have to have things my way, or i’m simply not happy at all. This helped make my life miserable, especially when I was following made up rules that were there simply because the Marine Corps wants to be different than the Army. It’s all the little things that get to you.

I could go on and on all night about how and why I hated the Marine Corps, and I have enough stories to convince even the most naive human being about the truth that is being a Marine, but I wont. I’ll save it for another time.

Although still upset about he 4 years of literal hell I spent, I can still say I did something to repay my country that gave me so much. And I have a little to show for it as well as a bonus, the Post 9/11 GI Bill.

So tomorrow I head up to the Installation Personnel Administrative Center (IPAC) and recieve my orders, then get my Individual Ready Reserve ID Card, and leave the Marine Corp Air Ground Combat Center, permanently, never to return again. I won’t look back and I will never miss it.

Leave a Reply

